NJ Hall of Fame inductees announced

December 3, 2009 9:44:44 PM PST
The newest members of New Jersey's Hall of Fame include actors Jack Nicholson and Danny DeVito, musicians Les Paul and Count Basie, and authors Philip Roth and Judy Blume. The 15-member class of 2010 announced Thursday also includes former President Woodrow Wilson, Olympian Carl Lewis, architect Michael Graves and former Supreme Court Justice William Brennan.

Rounding out the list: baseball player Larry Doby; women's rights advocate Alice Paul; actress Susan Sarandon; astronaut Wally Schirra, and singer Frankie Valli.

Gov.-elect Chris Christie introduced the new class at a Thursday afternoon news conference in Trenton.

The winners were chosen online by New Jerseyans and by the hall's Voting Academy of 100 state organizations.

This is the third class to be elected into the hall, which was created in 2005. The induction ceremony will be held May 2, 2010.

You can read bios on all of the nominees by clicking here. --- ON THE NET: