Brooklyn among counties OKed for disaster help

September 2, 2011 5:19:47 PM PDT
Nine more New York counties have been added to the list of those eligible for federal disaster assistance.

President Barack Obama declared a disaster in the state on Wednesday, opening the way for federal help recovering from Tropical Storm Irene. The assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, help with the expense of cleanups, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs. The level can vary by county.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says Friday that Orange, Saratoga, Sullivan, Clinton, Montgomery, Rockland, Suffolk, Warren and Kings counties are on the list.

They join Albany, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Schenectady, Schoharie, Ulster, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau, Rensselaer and Richmond counties.