Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios recalled over gluten allergy concerns

In this file photograph taken Sept. 10, 2009, boxes of General Mills Cheerios breakfast cereal varieties are displayed at a Little Rock, Ark., grocery store. (AP)

General Mills is recalling boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios after wheat flour entered its gluten-free production system at a California plant.



The company announced the voluntary recall Monday afternoon, writing in a press release that the recall stems from "an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi [Calif.] facility."

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios are labeled as being "gluten-free."

The recall includes four days of production of its original Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios from the Lodi plant. Recalled boxes can be identified by their "BETTER IF USED BY" code dates, including the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California.

The recalled "use by dates" include the following:

Honey Nut Cheerios
12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD

Original (Yellow Box) Cheerios
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

Related Topics:
foodproduct recallsfood safetyu.s. & worldnationalhealth

Load Comments