MVP between Crosby, Getzlaf, Giroux

NEW YORK -- Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby, Anaheim's Ryan Getzlaf and Philadelphia's Claude Giroux are finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy.

The NHL on Thursday announced the finalists for the trophy, which serves as the league's MVP award. The Professional Hockey Writers' Association submits ballots.

Crosby scored 36 goals and led the league in assists (68) and points (104), guiding the Penguins to their second consecutive division title.

Getzlaf scored a career-high 31 goals and ranked second in the league with 87 points, leading the Ducks to the top record in the Western Conference for the first time in franchise history.

Giroux matched a career high with 28 goals and finished third in the NHL scoring race (86 points), helping the Flyers rally from a 3-9-0 start.

Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin won the award last season, and Crosby was the runner-up. The winner will be announced June 24.

Related Video
NHL Announces MVP Finalists
NHL Announces MVP Finalists
Scott Burnside discusses why he thinks Sidney Crosby will beat out Ryan Getzlaf and Claude Giroux for the Hart Memorial Trophy.

Copyright © 2019 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.