MLS reveals eight teams for Leagues Cup vs. Liga MX

Friday, February 21, 2020

Major League Soccer has announced the eight teams that will participate in the second edition of the Leagues Cup, a competition that pits clubs from MLS against those from Liga MX.

The eight MLS teams will be the Philadelphia Union, Toronto FC, D.C. United, New York Red Bulls, Real Salt Lake, Minnesota United, LA Galaxy, and the Portland Timbers.

These represent the top four clubs from each of the Eastern and Western Conference from last season that did not qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League.

Of the eight Liga MX entrants, only Monterrey has qualified. The other participants will be determined by Monterrey's opponent in the Campeon de Campeones match, the Copa MX winner, and thefive top-ranked Liga MX teams from the combined Apertura 2019 and Clausura 2020 table that have not already qualified via Campeon de Campeones or Copa MX.

The inaugural edition was held last summer with four teams from each league participating. Cruz Azul beat Tigres UANL in an all-Liga MX affair in Las Vegas.

The single-elimination matches will be played midweek during the summer with the final played on Sept. 16.

Similar to the 2019 edition, all matches between MLS and Liga MX clubs will be played in the home market of the MLS team.

Related Video