Safe Haven laws for giving up children differ by state

The newborn boy abandoned in a Queens church has raised questions about Safe Haven laws, and when a baby can be left in the care of others.

In the state of New York, the baby must be left with a responsible person at a Safe Haven location.

Here are the Safe Haven laws in our area:

NEW YORK SAFE HAVEN LAW:

You can leave your baby, up to 30 days old, with any responsible person at a suitable hospital, health department, nonprofit community health center, fire station, police department.

NEW JERSEY SAFE HAVEN LAW:

You can leave your baby, up to 30 days old, at an emergency room of any licensed hospital or at any state, county or municipal police station.

CONNECTICUT SAFE HAVEN LAW:

You can leave your baby, up to 30 days old, with an employee at any hospital emergency room during regular business hours.

FULL TEXTS OF SAFE HAVEN LAWS

CLICK HERE TO FIND A SAFE HAVEN.

Toll-free crisis hotline: 1-888-510-BABY

Related Topics:
babySafe Haven Lawchild abandonedRichmond HillNew York City
(Copyright ©2017 WABC-TV. All Rights Reserved.)

Load Comments