Celebrate Equality: The Future of Women's Rights

Tuesday, March 10, 2020
EMBED <>More Videos

Celebrate Equality: The Future of Women's Rights: Part 1.

NEW YORK -- This year marks the 100th anniversary of women earning the right to vote in the U.S. and March is Women's History Month so there's no better time to shine a light on where things stand in relation to gender equality. Join Eyewitness News Anchor Sade Baderinwa as we take an in-depth look at the past, present, and future of women's rights.

Part 2:

Part 3:

Part 4:

Teaming up with UN Women, we'll learn about progress across the globe undertaken by people on the front lines in the fight for gender equality. We'll hear from the reigning Miss Universe, an Oscar-nominated filmmaker, an award-winning documentarian; to activists, entrepreneurs and our leaders of tomorrow.

And it's not just women taking up the cause, we'll learn how men are getting involved with programs like the UN Women's "HeforShe" campaign, giving men the tools to take action. And you'll meet two inspiring U.S. Amy veterans who are helping to educate girls in Afghanistan by raising money with the sale of flip flops.

This eye-opening half-hour will hopefully help viewers walk away feeling informed and inspired while still acknowledging the work that needs to be done.

Join us as we celebrate and spread the universal message... "Human rights are women's rights, and women's rights are human rights."

Featured in our show:

Combat Flip Flops - www.combatflipflops.com

Foundation Rwanda - foundationrwanda.org

Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media - www.seejane.org

Generation Equality - www.unwomen.org

HeforShe Campaign - www.heforshe.org

Hippo Roller - hipporoller.com

Intended Consequences - mediastorm.com/publication/intended-consequences

Jonathan Torgovnik - www.torgovnik.com

Kode with Klossy - www.kodewithklossy.com

Me Too - metoomvmt.org

Miss Universe -www.missuniverse.com

National Geographic - www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/2019/11/

National Women's Law Center - nwlc.org

Rights of Women Hotline - https://rightsofwomen.org.uk/get-advice/sexual-harassment-at-work-law/

Sitara - https://www.netflix.com/title/81160765 & www.letgirlsdream.org

TIME - time.com/athlete-of-the-year-2019-us-womens-soccer-team

Time's Up - timesupnow.org

Time's Up Legal Defense Fund - nwlc.org/times-up-legal-defense-fund

UN Women - www.unwomen.org

United State of Women -www.theunitedstateofwomen.org

Unbelievable - https://www.netflix.com/title/80153467

Zozibini Tunzi - Instagram: @zozitunzi

2020 Women's Vote Centennial Initiative - www.2020centennial.org