NYC services to be accessible in 6 languages

July 22, 2008 7:39:12 AM PDT
Mayor Michael Bloomberg is ordering all New York City services to be translated into six languages. The executive order is the first uniform, citywide policy requiring agencies to provide assistance and translation in the languages most commonly spoken by New Yorkers with limited English proficiency.

Those are Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Korean, Italian and French Creole.

The mayor says the 1.8 million New Yorkers who struggle with speaking English should be able to interact more easily with government.