Did you remember to fall back? Daylight Saving Time has ended

WABC logo
Sunday, November 1, 2015

It's time to set clocks back one hour!

Daylight Saving Time in the United States ended at 2 a.m. Sunday. Clocks should be turned back one hour in all states except Arizona and Hawaii.

Firefighters also say it is an excellent time to change the batteries in smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors.

The New York City Fire Department says 30 seconds and 9 volts can save your life.

Check out five fast facts about daylight saving time.

  1. It's Daylight Saving Time, no "s." (Because we're saving daylight.)
  2. By act of Congress, beginning in 2007, Daylight Saving Time begins in the United States on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.
  3. Every state in the U.S. observes Daylight Saving Time except for Hawaii and most of Arizona. The American territories of American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands also do not observe Daylight Saving Time.
  4. The most recent state to change its daylight time policy was Indiana, which adopted the use of daylight time state-wide in 2006.
  5. Don't worry, we'll be "springing ahead" in just a few months. Next year's Daylight Saving Time begins on March 13.

Related Topics