7 LGBTQ+ icons posthumously inducted to the National LGBTQ Wall of Honor at Stonewall Inn

ByEyewitness News WABC logo
Friday, June 23, 2023
Leslie Jordan, 'Fritz' Lohman and others honored at Stonewall Inn
Leslie Jordan, Terrence McNally and Gloria Allen were among the 2023 inductees to the National LGBTQ Wall of Honor at the historic Stonewall Inn.

NEW YORK (WABC) -- Pride Month is not just about celebrating today's trailblazers, but also recognizing the work of activists in the past.

An induction ceremony was held at the historic Stonewall Inn on Thursday to do just that.

The National LGBTQ Wall of Honor is designed to posthumously celebrate and acknowledge those who played crucial roles in the fight for LGBTQ+ rights.

This year's seven inductees are:

-Leslie Jordan

-Terrence McNally

-Achebe Betty Powell

-J. Frederick "Fritz" Lohman

-Darcell XV


-Gloria Allen

They join a living memorial that features icons like Harvey Milk, Keith Haring and Marsha P. Johnson.

For more about this year's honorees visit the National LGBTQ Task Force.

The National LGBTQ Task Force is also celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. The organization works to advance freedom, justice and equity for all LGBTQ+ people.

ALSO READ Happy Pride! Watch the 2023 NYC Pride March on ABC7NY


* Get Eyewitness News Delivered

* Follow us on YouTube

* More local news

* Send us a news tip

* Download the abc7NY app for breaking news alerts

Submit a tip or story idea to Eyewitness News

Have a breaking news tip or an idea for a story we should cover? Send it to Eyewitness News using the form below. If attaching a video or photo, terms of use apply.