Hoboken, Paterson launch COVID-19 vaccine, booster drives as cases tick up

COVID-19 Update for New Jersey
NEW JERSEY (WABC) -- Several cities in New Jersey are launching vaccine and booster pushes as COVID cases continue to tick up statewide due to the emergence of the BA.2 subvariant.

Hoboken is making it easier to get a second booster dose of the vaccine, launching special pop-up clinics in front of buildings for seniors.

Mayor Ravi Bhalla announced the pop-up sites following the FDA and CDC's authorization of a fourth dose of the vaccine.

ALSO READ | NYC mask mandate for kids under 5 remains in place, parents to protest at City Hall
EMBED More News Videos

Candace McCowan reports on a planned protest against the mask mandate for toddlers in New York City.


The clinics at local senior buildings began Monday for all those eligible.

"It is critical that we continue to ensure that our most vulnerable residents have access to this additional booster dose to increase their protection against severe COVID-19 symptoms," Bhalla said."I encourage all those eligible to go and get their second booster dose as soon as possible. Thank you to our local providers and the Hoboken health department for their continued diligence in keeping our residents safe."

The Pfizer boosters are being offered to eligible individuals, including the immunocompromised and those over 50 years old who received their last booster shot at least four months ago.

The Hoboken health department and Hoboken Family Pharmacy will be in the community rooms of each of the city's senior buildings, with the schedule as follows:
--Monday, April 4, Marion Towers at 400 First Street from 9 a.m. to noon
--Monday, April 4, Columbian Towers at 76 Bloomfield Street from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
--Tuesday, April 5, Monroe Gardens at 221 Jackson Street from 9 a.m. to noon
--Tuesday, April 5, Adams Gardens at 220 Adams Street from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
--Wednesday, April 6, 1 Marineview Plaza from 9 a.m. to noon
--Thursday, April 7, 15 Church Towers from 9 a.m. to noon
--Thursday, April 7, Columbian Arms at 514 Madison Street from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
--Friday, April 8, Fox Hills at 311 13th Street from 9 a.m. to noon

Those seeking a booster shot must bring their vaccine card.CLICK HERE for a complete schedule or to book an appointment.

WATCH: Young mother goes missing in Brooklyn, mom's desperate search for her
EMBED More News Videos

In this episode of "Missing" Eyewitness News Investigative Reporter Kristin Thorne profiles a young mother, Chelsea Michelle Cobo, who vanished from Brooklyn in 2016.


Also Monday, Paterson Public Schools began offering COVID vaccines at 11 different schools.

The vaccines are available to all eligible children as well as adults.

"We greatly appreciate this partnership with the state Department of Health to make it easier for Paterson families to have their children vaccinated against COVID-19," Superintendent of Schools Eileen Shafer said. "The public health experts have indicated many times that more people getting vaccinated will result in all of us resuming more normal lives. Now that we have students and teachers back in classrooms, we want to keep them there. It is my hope that these 11 vaccination sites will lead to more students between the ages of 5 and 11 getting vaccinated."

The vaccinations are available as follows:

--Public School No. 28: 200 Presidential Boulevard, Monday, April 4, and Wednesday, April 6, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--International High School: 200 Grand Street, Tuesday, April 5, and Thursday, April 7, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Dr. Hani Awadallah School: 515 Marshall Street, Monday, April 11, and Wednesday, April 13, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 9: 6 Timothy Street, Tuesday, April 12, and Monday, May 2, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 24: 50 19th Avenue, Monday, April 25, and Wednesday, April 27, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 21: 322 10th Avenue, Tuesday, April 26, Thursday, April 28, and Thursday, May 26, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 5: 430 Totowa Avenue, Thursday, May 5, and Wednesday, June 1, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--HARP Academy: 764 11th Avenue, Monday, May 9 and Wednesday, May 11, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 27: 250 Richmond Avenue, Tuesday, May 10 and Thursday, May 12, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Eastside High School Complex: 150 Park Avenue, Monday, May 16, and Wednesday, May 18, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
--Public School No. 26: 1 East 32nd Street, Tuesday, May 31, and Thursday, June 2, 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.

national geographic covid newsletter sign up



MORE CORONAVIRUS COVID-19 COVERAGE


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on coronavirus

Submit a COVID Question
Copyright © 2022 WABC-TV. All Rights Reserved.